ICIAM Prizes for 2007

prize-winners embargoed until 18 September 2006

Access to the names and details of the prize recipients is now available before the embargo date/time only to those with a valid password to everyone,
as a PDF document (~ 0.5 Mbyte).

To everyone else: please return here after 6:00pm EST (e.g. Sydney) 18 September 2006.
4:00pm CST (e.g. Beijing)
1:30pm IST (e.g. New Dehli)
10:00am CEST (e.g. Zurich)
8:00am GMT (e.g. London)
4:00am EDT (e.g. New York)
1:00am PDT (e.g. Los Angeles)
ICIAM2007.jpg
 
 
At the 2007 Congress in Zürich five ICIAM prizes will be awarded:
  • the Pioneer Prize: awarded to --- joint winners:
    Ingrid Daubechies (Princeton University, USA) and
    Heinz Engl (Johannes Kepler Universität Linz, Austria and Austrian Academy of Sciences)

    ... established for pioneering work introducing applied mathematical methods and scientific computing techniques to an industrial problem area or a new scientific field of applications. The prize commemorates the spirit and impact of the American pioneers.

    It was created on the initiative of SIAM, and was first awarded in 1999. The Pioneer Prize is presently funded by SIAM.
     

  • the Collatz Prize: awarded to Felix Otto (Universität Bonn, Germany)
     
    ... established to provide international recognition to individual scientists under 42 years of age for outstanding work on industrial and applied mathematics.

    It was created on the initiative of GAMM, and first awarded in 1999.
    The Collatz Prize is presently funded by GAMM.
     

  • the Lagrange Prize: awarded to Joseph Keller (Stanford University, USA)
     
    ... established to provide international recognition to individual mathematicians who have made an exceptional contribution to applied mathematics throughout their careers.

    It was created on the initiative of SMAI, and first awarded in 1999. The Lagrange Prize is presently funded by SMAI, SEMA and SIMAI.
     

  • the Maxwell Prize: awarded to Peter Deuflhard (ZIB Berlin, Germany)
     
    ... established to provide international recognition to a mathematician who has demonstrated originality in applied mathematics.

    It was created on the initiative of the IMA (with the support of the J.C. Maxwell Society), and first awarded in 1999. The Maxwell Prize is presently funded by IMA.
     

  • the Su Buchin Prize: awarded to Gilbert Strang (MIT, USA)
     
    ... established to provide international recognition of an outstanding contribution by an individual in the application of Mathematics to emerging economies and human development, in particular at the economic and cultural level in developing countries.

    It was created on the initiative of the CSIAM, and will be awarded for the first time in 2007. The Su Buchin Prize is presently funded by CSIAM.
     

The value of the Prizes in 2007 will be $1,000 multiplied by the number of supporting societies.
For more details, including photos and the citations about these prize-winners, please download the PDF document (~ 0.5 Mbyte).

site by Ross Moore, for ICIAM.
enquiries to iciam@iciam.org